President: Dr. Karen Meech

Vice President: Dr. Alan Boss

Organizing Committee:

Name/Web Email Address
Dr. Alan Boss (USA) boss(@dtm.ciw.edu) Dept. of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Inst. of Washington, 5241 Broad Branch Road, N. W., Washington, D.C. 20015-1305
Dr. Cristiano Cosmovici (Italy) cosmo(@ifsi.rm.cnr.it) Instituto di Fisica dello Spazio Interplanetario, CNR, Roma, Italy
Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund (The Netherlands) pascale(@strw.leidenuniv.nl) Leiden Institute of Chemistry, Leiden University, Einsteinweg 55, 2300 RA Leiden, The Netherlands
Dr. Karen Meech (USA) meech(@ifa.hawaii.edu) Institute for Astronomy, 2680 Woodlawn Drive, Honolulu, HI 96822, USA
Dr. David Latham (USA) dlatham(@cfa.harvard.edu) Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, 60 Garden St., MS 20, Cambridge, MA 02138
Dr. David Morrison (USA) david.morrison(@arc.nasa.gov) NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA,
Dr. Stephane Udry (Switzerland) stephane.udry(@obs.unige.ch) Observatoire de Geneve, 51, chemin des Maillettes, CH-1290 Sauverny, Suisse


Bioastronomy: Search for Extraterrestrial Life was established as Commission 51 of the IAU in 1982. The objectives of the commission include: The search for planets around other stars; The search for radio transmissions, intentional or unintentional, of extraterrestrial origin; The search for biologically relevant interstellar molecules and the study of their formation processes; Detection methods for potential spectroscopic evidence of biological activity; The coordination of efforts in all these areas at the international level and the establishment of collaborative programs with other international scientific societies with related interests.